Sunday, 12 March 2017

A LADY’S CODE OF MISCONDUCT




Apologies for the lateness of this posting(life and internet screw ups got in the way!) but here it is and let me tell you now this book if fantastic.

Now i've read alot of romance books of this sort but i really couldn't put this one down. The story kept me pulled in with every word and i highly recommend you pick up a copy! I don't want to spoil anything in it so i'm not going to say anymore than amnesia can be a bitch ;)



FROM THE usa today bestselling author of FOOL ME TWICe, the 2015 RITA AWARD Winner for Historical Romance
AND LUCK BE A LADY, AN RT BOOK REVIEWS NOMINEE FOR BEST BOOK OF 2015 HISTORICAL NOVEL

A LADY’S CODE OF MISCONDUCT
Fifth in the Rules for the Reckless Series
By Meredith Duran
Pocket Books
Publication Date: February 28, 2017
ISBN: 9781501139024
Price: $7.99

Praise for A Lady’s Code of Misconduct:
“Political intrigue and conspiracies abound in Duran’s engrossing fifth Rules for the Reckless Victorian romance (after Luck Be a Lady), which boasts plot twists galore…Duran is at the pinnacle of her craft as she weaves together humor, forgiveness, and love in a flawlessly executed plot. Jane, Crispin, and the rest of the characters are all well drawn, and the love scenes strike the perfect balance of steamy and sweet. Each layer in the story is suspenseful and delightful, making this the best installment so far.”
Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

“A sham marriage, political intrigue, and a case of amnesia provide a backdrop for this absorbing Victorian romance. Although Duran (Luck Be a Lady, 2015, etc.) has written a novel as layered as an onion, the characters are well-drawn and the plot flawlessly executed. Add in some very steamy sex, and the fifth installment of Duran's Rules for the Reckless series can't help but delight. This book weaves its spell so thoroughly that the most fortunate reader will be the one who has time to read the entire thing in one sitting. A masterful tale of suspense, forgiveness, and love.”
Kirkus STARRED REVIEW

“Political intrigue drives a captivating historical romance…This Regency romance, part of the Rules for the Reckless series, is a smart love story, peopled with complex and absorbing characters.”
BookPage, TOP PICK IN ROMANCE

“A riveting story.”
—Heroes and Heartbreakers

“A masterful author of historical romances…A Lady’s Code of Misconduct takes worn threads of old tropes, like amnesia and the tortured hero, and weaves them into a lush tapestry with sophisticated, beautiful writing. Crispin seems power-mad and Jane seems saintly, but as Duran slowly unravels their characters amidst a plot of intrigue, betrayal, and dark secrets, we discover they’re more alike than they (or we) realize. The hero is swoonworthy, and I couldn’t help but fall in love with Jane as his flaws shine a light on her own. The tale and characters so captivated me, that I literally couldn’t put it down.”
Omnivoracious Amazon Book Review by Sabrina Jeffries

“Thoughtfully written and the story creates not just a simple story of two people but an entire world for them to inhabit. If you like your historicals to have some meat to them, I highly recommend this one.”
—All About Romance

“Extremely relevant to our current political state…I could have easily sat and devoured this in one evening as each of the chapters seemed to end on a cliffhanger that just won't let you put the book down. Quill says: A Lady’s Code of Misconduct is the perfect book to sit in your favorite chair with and let the world pass by for a little while you get lost in the past.”
Feathered Quill

I absolutely love this series… Meredith writes intelligent characters with a fast paced plot.  Her writing is sensual, witty and totally captivating.  This book has everything you would want in a Historical Romance.   It is witty, sensual with a mystery that will keep you guessing to the very end. Crispin and Jane are extraordinary characters in a riveting story that will leave you wanting more.  The journey of Crispin and Jane to their HAE is fabulous.  I will read anything that Meredith writes.” 
—The Reading Wench

“A fun read. I enjoyed Duran’s characters and plot…there’s a villain who made me think of a Regency era James Bond villain.”
—Bookfan

About the book:
USA TODAY  bestselling author Meredith Duran’s A LADY’S CODE OF MISCONDUCT is the fifth sizzling novel in the Rules for the Reckless series—a sexy and evocative Regency romance between a famous heiress and an infamous crime lord.

A DEAL WITH the DEVIL…

Trapped in the countryside, facing an unwanted marriage and the theft of her fortune, Jane Mason is done behaving nicely. To win her freedom, she’ll strike a deal with the most dangerous man she knows—a rising star in politics, whose dark good looks mask an even darker heart.

…NEVER GOES TO PLAN.

The bitter past has taught Crispin Burke to trust no one. He’ll gladly help a lovely young heiress, provided she pays a price. Yet when a single mistake shatters his life, it is Jane who holds the key to his salvation. And in a world that no longer makes sense, Crispin slowly realizes that she may be the only thing worth fighting for...


A   About the author:
Meredith Duran is the author of ten previous novels, including The Duke of Shadows (winner of the Gather.com First Chapters Romance Writing Competition); Wicked Becomes You (included on the Woman’s World List of Best Beach Reads for Summer 2010), and the USA TODAY bestseller and RITA Award Winner Fool Me Twice. She blames Anne Boleyn for sparking her lifelong obsession with British history, and for convincing her that princely love is no prize if it doesn’t come with a happily-ever-after. She enjoys collecting old etiquette manuals, guidebooks to nineteenth-century London, and travelogues by intrepid Victorian women. Visit her at MeredithDuran.com, on Twitter @meredithduran and Facebook AuthorMeredithDuran.

Reckless Reward:
The twenty starred blogs (*) below will giveaway one set (Reckless Reward!) of three autographed copies in the Rules for the Reckless series: Fool Me Twice, Lady Be Good, and Luck Be A Lady. You can enter on all participating sites, but you can only win once. To celebrate the fifth in the series, there will be five Reckless Reward giveaways per day beginning publication day, Tuesday, February 28th – Friday, March 3rd. U.S. only.

Blog Tour:
Bookaholics Romance Book Club INTERVIEW WITH MEREDITH DURAN and  GIVEAWAY

Sunday, February 26th

Monday, February 27th

Tuesday, February 28th

Wednesday, March 1st

Thursday, March 2nd
Dirty Girl Romance - Spotlight
Bookhounds – Q&A

Friday, March 3rd
Night Owl Reviews – Author Guest Post

Saturday, March 4th

Sunday, March 5th

Monday, March 6th
Reading Frenzy – Spotlight
Bookish - Giveaway

Tuesday, March 7th
Bookworm2bookworm – Spotlight, Excerpt, and Review

Wednesday, March 8th
Fresh Fiction - Spotlight

Thursday, March 9th

Friday, March 10th

Friday, 24 February 2017

Late start to the new year!

Hello to anyone out there reading! I've been very lax in my posting but i plan to change that. Admittedly this change should have started with the new year, or at least on a Monday (but hey Fridays can be a good time for change right??!)  But there's no time like the present.
This book lover has taken on a new challenge, i'm one of the organisers for the Nottingham The Girly Book Club! So with this new challenge i've decided to link it in with my blog here in an attempt to get the reviews flowing.The first meeting is on the 27th of March (if you happen to want to come along find us on Meetup.com) so sometime soon after that i'll post my review of the first book!

March's book is called "Swear on this life" by Renee Carlino and having read the blurb on the back it sounds rather interesting and i cant wait to get stuck in!  Here's the cover in case anyone is in a nosey mood.


So with that i'll leave this post and hopefully you'll get some new this to have a gander at soon :)

K xx

Monday, 8 August 2016

           Otherworld Secrets
                                    By
                 Kelley Armstrong

Title: Otherworld Secrets
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: October 6th 2015
Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 978-0-356-50067-6

Summary:
The collection begins with a brand-new novella featuring werewolf Karl Marsden and half-demon Hope, in what might be Karl's last heist. Meanwhile Elena and Clay are trapped in a wintry small town with a killer on the loose,in the fast-paced and atmospheric novella 'Forbidden'.
In 'Angelic', former black witch and part-time angel Eve is sent on a dangerous mission by the Fates, while necromancer Jamie tackles a ghost with a seriously bad attitude in 'The Ungrateful Dead'. Zoe Takano  is forced to defend her territory in the hugely entertaining 'Zen and the Art of Vampirism'. And in the final novella, 'Counterfeit Magic' Paige Winterbourne and Lucas Cortez  take on a troubling case that will change the couple for ever.



Review:

OK, so I'll start this off by telling you a little bit about the series that these novella originate from.
I've been reading my way through Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series for a few years now, and I have to say, I love it!

The series of which these novella draw their origins starts with 'Bitten' (which I'm likely to review later), which is the story of Elena - the only female werewolf.Throughout the Women of the Otherworld series we meet some fantastic female characters,each woman is strong, considered the equal of their men in battle - and their men are by no means weak!

This set of novellas are stand alone stories though they do slot between main books. You don't need to have read the main books (though I highly recommend that you do) to read the novellas as each one gives a small backtrack of sorts. You very quickly get informed of who characters are without it disrupting the story or getting irritating for those who are already familiar with the series.

Karl and Hope's story is one of the novella in this book, and it is a lovely little one at that. The short story focuses around Karl (a werewolf and an ex-thief) being tempted into one last heist, despite being a retired thief,and his dealing with those who try to tempt him. Through the novella you discover Karl retired from the robbery business because he and Hope have a child, and now that she's pregnant for the second time he's ever more determined not to go back; but a client is just as determined to drag Karl back into his old habits. It is a fantastic piece of writing, you really do feel for Karl as he fights against his inner demons, whilst trying to do right by Hope and his child, to be a good man (wolf?)




Elena and Clay come once more into a collection and as always its a great story. This time they get stuck in a small " hick town" when coming to the rescue of a young werewolf, which gets them caught up in small town murders. Morgan (the young werewolf) is a character we've met before but he was in his wolf form when we did; experimenting living as a wolf for a year without changing back to his human form. In that book Elena offered him the chance to visit The Pack and now he's human he decides to take them up on it.

Morgan's choice of town to stop and rest seems appropriate. The high school mascot is a werewolf, but that also causes the odd issue when the murders start happening due to the murders seeming to have been committed by a wolf; is Morgan the killer? Elena and Clay have to figure out the murders and who's responsible before they can risk taking Morgan back to The Pack, their family.

It's hard to pick a favourite out of these novella, each one is fantastic and its a shame they aren't full novels! However, seeing as I'm reviewing this collection of short stories (and let's face it you want to know the good and the bad - spoiler: there is no bad),  I'm going to have to go with Jamie's novella 'The Ungrateful Dead' . It's such a good giggle; the banter between Jamie and the ghosts is laugh out loud funny and her way of dealing with them (which i wont spoil) is genius!

Although I've picked this novella as my favourite they are all filled with little bouts of the giggles because of  the quips that characters come out with and that makes me love them all.

In short i highly recommend this book and direct you to get it out of your library or from your local bookstore without fail! :)

Sunday, 26 June 2016

50 Ways to Yay! : Transformative tools for a whole lot of happy.

                                             By

                                      Alexi Panos



Title:  50 Ways to Yay! : Transformative tools for a whole lot of happy.
Author: Alexi Panos
Publisher:North Star Way
Publication Date:7th June 2016
Genre: Self Help,Health, Mind & Body
Summary:
Effervescent TV host, model, and inspirational vlogger Alexi Panos has helped thousands with their own search for personal happiness. In 50 Ways to Yay!, Alexi, recently named one of eleven Noteworthy Millenials in the Huffington Post, helps you do the same with fifty inspired and thought-provoking lessons and exercises to help you break out of the ordinary and jump into the extraordinary.

Is it possible to be a master of your reality? Be happy, and create an epic life despite your circumstances? Hell yes! And we’re just getting started. That’s the mantra Alexi Panos lives by in 50 Ways to Yay! But Alexi wasn’t always this positive. About six years ago, she woke up to the slow monotony that had become her life. Sick of feeling stressed out, emotionally detached, and never quite happy enough, she knew something had to change.

So Alexi immersed herself in psychology, Eastern thought, and personal development by reading thousands of books, taking classes, and experimenting with techniques that were sometimes amazing, and sometimes disastrous. In 50 Ways to Yay!, she shares her results in this delightful, yet thought-provoking primer, such as:

-It’s not about what life has dealt you, it’s about how you react to it.

-Vulnerability is relatable. Perfection is not.

-Those who are happy with nothing are happy with everything.

Alexi has done the extensive research (so you don’t have to) and synthesized it into fifty practical tools that you can apply for extraordinary results now. With her guidance, you can experience a domino effect of inner peace, inspiration, and a whole lot of happy.


ISBN: 9781501131783


Review:
So i thought id give this getting a whole lot of happy a go. It's not like im miserable in my life but im not completely happy with certain aspects so what can it hurt to give it a try, admittedly this is a slow reader, 50 ways at one a day means i cant just go and read it all in one sitting not unless i dont try anything in it.Usually im not one for slow readers(my other half would say thats because i read at super speed)  but this one caught my attention, mostly by the title (not enough books with Yay in the title) .
Because of that this review is coming in two parts, this one telling you that i'm reading it,giving it all a try and my initial thoughts of it then another in 50 days time with a complete review.
So far, having just read the intro it seems a good book, she's (as it says) done all the research and put a lot of effort into this idea of tools for happiness.I realise thats not much of a review but as i haven't quite started the 50 ways bit yet theres not much to say but watch this space, in 50 days i'll let you know everything, good and bad about the book and this getting a whole lot of happy idea!

Monday, 6 June 2016



Hi everyone,

So im new to this blogging thing and im getting to grips with this book review thing. I've never done the former before and i haven't done the latter since i was in high school( and lets not get into how long ago that was!) So you'll have to excuse the way the reviews start out, they may be short or they may not flow very well but they will get better, i promise!
So the first review will come soon and i'm going to try to review a book a week and throw in a classic book a month(with any luck i'll manage that)

Sorry this is such a short post but I've run out of things to type!